IEBC Chair Chebukati reacts to resignation of three commissioners

IEBC Chair Chebukati reacts to resignation of three commissioners

- in News
IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati says he is in the dark concerning mass resignation of his commissioners.

In a short statement, Mr Chebukati on Monday said commissioners Connie Maina, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat did not inform him of their walk-out.

“I learnt from media reports that three of my commissioners have resigned today. I am yet to receive communication on the matter,” Mr Chebukati said.

“The commission will give a comprehensive statement at an appropriate time.”

Commissioners of independent commissions, including the electoral agency, are deemed to resigned if they communicate it in writing to the president.

“The office of a member of the commission shall become vacant if the holder resigns from office by notice in writing addressed to the President,” Section 7 (a) of the IEBC Act says.

The commissioners announced their resignation on Monday morning, saying they have no faith in Mr Chebukati and his leadership.

Under Mr Chebukati’s leadership, they said, “the commission boardroom has become a venue for peddling misinformation, grounds for brewing mistrust, and a space for scrambling for and chasing individual glory and credit.”

The commission, which has been at war since the lead-up to August 8, 2017 elections, has become dysfunctional due to external interference, the commissioners said in a statement read by Ms Mwachanya.

“For too long and way too many times, the commission chair has failed to be the steady and stable hand that steers the ship in difficult times, and gives directions when needed,” the three IEBC chief said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

KPLC, Mboya settle billing case

Former Law Society of Kenya chief executive Apollo