Three IEBC commissioners resign

Three IEBC commissioners resign

- in News, Politics

Three IEBC commissioners have resigned saying chairman Wafula Chebukati has failed to give proper leadership.

The three are Vice chair Consolata Nkatha, Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya.

They announced their decisions at a press conference in Nairobi on Monday morning, Nkatha insisting that last year’s elections were conducted properly.

The announcement came days after Chebukati suspended CEO Ezra Chiloba “because of procurement issues”.

Mwachanya, who read a statement on behalf of her colleagues, said: “With the mistrust at the commission, we feel that our positions as commissioners are no longer tenable. We regret to tender our resignations with immediate effect.”

She noted: The removal of a CEO is a weighty matter that could not have been introduced as a by-the-way during the meeting. The chairman could have waited for an appropriate time – when all the commissioners are in the country – to properly call a sitting to deliberate on the matter.”

According to sources within the commission, Chebukati wants a number of issues investigated while Chiloba is away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

(FULL SPEECH) Uhuru urges Kenyans to shun divisive politics

Your Excellency Hage Geingob, President of the Republic