Alfred Keter ousted as Labour committee chair

Alfred Keter ousted as Labour committee chair

- in Elections 2017, News, Politics

Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter lost his Labour committee chairman post following a vote of no confidence by his Jubilee Party counterparts on Tuesday.

Nominated MP David Ole Sankok moved the motion claiming they did not take into consideration the requirement of regional balance.

“I can also be a chairman. I was chairman of Sonu when I was [at University of Nairobi]. It’s not about qualifications. It’s about balance. There was no consideration of regional balance,” he said in Parliament.

But Keter said passing a vote of no confidence would mean legislators were working  with the executive yet Parliament should be independent.

Last week, President Uhuru Kenyatta summoned four MPs who defied the party’s directive to resign from the committees they were elected to head.

The other three were Moiben’s Silas Tiren, Marakwet MP David Bowen and Emgwen’s Alex Kosgey. They defied a directive by deputy president William Ruto to relinquish the seats they had won, against their party’s wishes.

The four have been at loggerheads with Jubilee Party chiefs in Parliament after going against president Uhuru Kenyatta’s preferences and working their way to committee leadership roles.

Keter said: “I thought names given by the president and DP were suggestions but was surprised to realise they [gave directives].

“We are setting a bad tradition. Parliament has the capacity to produce its leaders. It is wrong to be seated here instead of going through an induction.”

An agitated Keter further said it was unfortunate that the party wanted him out because of regional balance.

“We were elected to lead the people of Kenya and as long as we are here, we work towards the betterment of Kenya, not because of a president’s directive.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

(FULL SPEECH) Uhuru urges Kenyans to shun divisive politics

Your Excellency Hage Geingob, President of the Republic